Full List: Man city, Chelsea, Real Madrid… All past and current Club World Cup winners

 Full List: Man city, Chelsea, Real Madrid… All past and current Club World Cup winners

Manchester City are the 2023 Club World Cup champions, beating Fluminense in the final to secure their first club World Cup title and their fifth trophy in 2023.

The FIFA Club World Championship was the competition’s original name from 1999–20; the current title was adopted in 2006.

Seven teams compete for the title in the current format of the tournament, which takes place over roughly two weeks at venues in the host country. The national champions of the host country and the current champions of the AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania), and UEFA Champions League (Europe) compete in a straight knockout tournament.

The national champions of the host country compete in a play-off against the Oceania champions, with the winner moving on to the quarterfinals to face Asian, African, and North American champions.

In the final four, the winners of those ties will play the champions of South America and Europe for a spot in the final.

The FIFA Club World Cup winners list is comparable to a who’s who of the world’s largest football teams.

To date, only four English sides have won the tournament; Manchester United (2008), Liverpool (2019), Chelsea (2021) and most recently Manchester City (2023)

Real Madrid has won the championship five times, making them the most successful club in the tournament’s history. Barcelona, who has won it three times, is right behind them. This brings us to a list of all the tournament winners.

2023/2024 Manchester City

2022/2023 Real Madrid

2021/2022 Chelsea FC 

2020/2021 Bayern Munich

2019/2020 Liverpool FC

2018/2019 Real Madrid

2017/2018 Real Madrid

2016/2017 Real Madrid

2015/2016 FC Barcelona

2014/2015 Real Madrid

2013/2014 Bayern Munich

2012/2013 Sport Club Corinthians Paulista

2011/2012 FC Barcelona

2010/2011 FC Internazionale

2009/2010 FC Barcelona

2008/2009 Manchester United 

2007/2008 AC Milan

2006/2007 Sport Club Internacional

2005/2006 São Paulo Futebol Clube

1999/2000 Sport Club Corinthians Paulista

Also read: Man City’s first UCL, Messi’s 8th Ballon D’or… Unforgettable football moments of 2023

Related post