FULL LIST: Tunji Disu, Idris Ibrahim & others win big as police award outstanding officers

 FULL LIST: Tunji Disu, Idris Ibrahim & others win big as police award outstanding officers

Tunji Disu, the Commissioner of Police in Rivers State, received the prestigious CP of the Year award at the inaugural Nigeria Police Awards and Commendation. 

The ceremony, held at the Congress Hall of Transcorp Hilton, Abuja, was attended by dignitaries including Vice-President Kashim Shettima, Senate President Godswill Akpabio, Deputy Senate President Barau Jibrin, Governor Abba Yusuf of Kano, Emir Aminu Ado Bayero of Kano, and heads of security agencies. 

Representing President Bola Tinubu, Vice-President Shettima announced the federal government’s approval of the first week of April as Police Week, with April 7th designated as National Police Day. Disu, who took over as CP of Rivers in November 2023, was nominated alongside Danjuma Aboki of CP Imo Command and Augustina Ogbodo of CP Ebonyi Command.

Read also:

Under Disu’s leadership, the Rivers Police Command successfully neutralized Gift Okpara, also known as 2Baba, a suspected serial kidnapper implicated in the murder of Divisional Police Officer Bako Angbashim in Ahoada, Ahoada East LGA of Rivers State. The event also honored the families of deceased police officers with posthumous awards.


Tunji Disu – Commissioner of Police of the Year

Haruna Abdullahi (Kano) — Police Public Relations Officer of the Year

Idris Ibrahim, Okoi Emmanuel Iferi, (Counter intelligence unit) —  Award For Integrity

Shaba Aliyu – Divisional Police Officer (DPO) of the Year

Muhammad Musa – Area Commander of the Year

Patrol Team From 40 PMF (Taraba Command) – Patrol Team of the Year

Kasumu Rilwan Oluropo – Investigator of the Year

Nnamdi Egbunike – Cyber Crime Buster of the Year

Dere Olalekan (Ondo Command) – Police Medical Personnel of the Year

Madaki Emmanuel – Police Legal Officer of the Year

Muhammed Gumei – Community Policing Advocate of the Year

Abbey Yetunde – Police Sportsman of the Year

Alabi Kayode – Traffic Warden of the Year

Odeyeyiwa Oladimeji – Crime Buster of the Year

Onyia Everistus (SCID, Enugu command) – Detective of the Year

Elaigwu Augustine —  Award For Gallantry

Related post