Four EPL title in a row: Inside Manchester City’s historic journey

 Four EPL title in a row: Inside Manchester City’s historic journey

Have the Premier League turned to the farmers league? That is the question going on in the minds of many as Manchester City were crowned 2023/24 Premier League champions, becoming the first men’s team in the history of English football to win four top-flight titles consecutively.

Two goals from Phil Foden and one from Rodrigo helped the Cityzens to seal a 3-1 against West Ham United on the last day of the league and finish two points ahead of Arsenal who are in second place.

Club legend Paul Dickov and Michael Crowther given the responsibility of handing the trophy to the club captain, Kyle Walker and the former Tottenham man lifted the prestigious trophy in from a a filled and electrifying Etihad Stadium.

More on football:

Victor Boniface: From barrack boy to Bundesliga rookie of the season and champion

Ronaldo, Kane, Palmer… List of EPL young player of the season award winners

Ronaldo, Salah, Foden … List of EPL player of the year award winners

This 2023/24 Premier League title is City’s 10th and Guardiola’s sixth in seven years since taking over the Manchester club in 2016.

Adding to their earlier-season successes in the FIFA Club World Cup and UEFA Super Cup, This historic EPL title win marks their third trophy of the 2023/24 campaign.

Pep’s men also have the chance to make another history this season come May 25th when they will face their local rivals, Manchester United in the FA Cup final at Wembley stadium and a win will make them the fist English football club to win both EPL and FA Cup in two straight seasons.

The history makers won 28 of the 38 league games this season while scoring 95 goals and accumulating 91 points. They have also never lost at home, with their last Premier League loss at the Etihad Stadium occurring in November 2022 when Brentford beat them 1-2.

The 91 points accumulated in the just concluded in 2023/24 season means they have now finished a campaign with over 90 points in four four seasons, and that is more than any other team in the Premier League era.

Impressively, since joining City, Guardiola has won 17 trophies total: six Premier League titles, one Champions League, two FA Cups, four League Cups, one UEFA Super Cup, one FIFA Club World Cup, and two Community Shields and while every member of Guardiola’s team played a significant role in the season and helped the team defend the title, there were also some noteworthy individual accomplishments.

23-year-old Norwegian striker, Erling Haaland won the Premier League Golden Boot for the second consecutive season with 27 goals while Phil Foden was selected Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association and Premier League Player of the Season.

See also: Victor Boniface: From barrack boy to Bundesliga rookie of the season and champion

Related post