Full list: Identity of 29 retired Nigerian Army Generals

 Full list: Identity of 29 retired Nigerian Army Generals

Multiple sources, including Premium Times, have reported that the Nigerian Army has begun the retirement process for 29 generals following the appointment of Farouk Yahaya as chief of Army Staff. 

Despite earlier claims by Defence Headquarters that no personnel had been retired, the generals’ retirement was confirmed in a memo. 

Mr. Yahaya, a major general from Sokoto State, succeeds the late Lieutenant General Ibrahim Attahiru. Speculations arose regarding the retirement of 30 to 45 senior generals upon Yahaya’s appointment, and a memo now indicates the approval for 29 major generals to proceed on terminal leave, signaling their eventual retirement. 

Read also:

While the memo addresses major generals from Regular Course 36, it remains silent on those from Regular Course 35, who are also Yahaya’s seniors. Multiple army sources suggest that the approved leave for these generals anticipates their compulsory retirement, pending formal approval by the Army Council.

Full list:

  • JB Olawumi
  • JO Akomolafe
  • CO Ude
  • G Oyefesobi
  • MO Uzoh
  • CC Okonkwo
  • MSA Aliyu
  • UM Mohammed
  • BM Shafa
  • NE Angbazo
  • YP Auta
  • SA Yaro
  • J Sarham
  • HE Ayamasoawei
  • OF Azinta
  • BA Akinroluyo
  • KAY Isiyaku
  • AT Hamman
  • AM Aliyu
  • HPZ Vintienagba
  • HR Momoh
  • JR Unuigbe
  • AA Jidda
  • OI Uzomere
  • MH Magaji
  • LA Adegboye
  • MA Masanawa
  • OA Akinyemi
  • AM Dauda.

Related post