Ronaldo, Salah, Foden … List of EPL player of the year award winners

 Ronaldo, Salah, Foden … List of EPL player of the year award winners

The Premier League Player of the Season is awarded by the English FA to a player who performed well for their team.

The award honours a player’s exceptional efforts throughout a particular season and is one of the most valued individual awards in English football. The winner is chosen by a team made up of experts, football governing bodies, media and fans.

Four players have taken home the award twice in their careers thus far. The first player to kick off the trend was Thierry Henry. Cristiano Ronaldo and Nemanja Vidic his former teammate at Manchester United, joined shortly after. The most recent player to enter the elite group of double winners is Kevin De Bruyne.

Manchester United players have won this award eight times and that’s the most by any single club. Their neighbours, Manchester City are just behind them with six.

With 23 years-old Phil Foden who has been directly involved in 25 goals in 34 Premier League games for City voted the 2023/24 Player of the Season, Crispng takes a look at the list of players who have won the Premier League Player of the Year award.

More on football: Arsenal or Man City? Opta supercomputer predicts who will win Premier league

Premier League Player of the Season Award winners

1994/95 Alan Shearer (Blackburn Rovers)

1995/96 Peter Schmeichel (Manchester United)

1996/97 Juninho (Middlesbrough)

1997/98 Michael Owen (Liverpool)

1998/99 Dwight Yorke (Manchester United)

1999/2000 Kevin Phillips (Sunderland)

2000/01 Patrick Vieira (Arsenal)

2001/02 Freddie Ljungberg (Arsenal)

2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United)

2003/04 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2004/05 Frank Lampard (Chelsea)

2005/06 Thierry Henry (Arsenal)

2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2008/09 Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

2009/10 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2010/11 Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

2011/12 Vincent Kompany (Manchester City)

2012/13 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

2013/14 Luis Suarez (Liverpool)

2014/15 Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

2015/16 Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

2016/17 N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

2017/18 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

2018/19 Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool)

2019/20 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

2020/21 Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

2021/22 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

2022/23 Erling Haaland (Manchester City)

2023/24 Phil Foden (Manchester City)

See also: Ronaldo, Kane, Palmer… List of EPL young player of the season award winners

Related post