Ronaldo, Kane, Palmer… List of EPL young player of the season award winners

 Ronaldo, Kane, Palmer… List of EPL young player of the season award winners

The Premier league young player award also known as PFA young player of the year or for commercial purposes Hublot Young Player of the Year is a special recognition given to the most outstanding player in the league below the age of 23 years old before the start of the season in question.

The winner of the award is chosen annually conducted by the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA). The trophy has been presented annually since the 1973/74 campaign. The inaugural winner of the award was Ipswich Town’s Kevin Beattie, a defender. Last season’s winner was Bukayo Saka of Arsenal after Phil Foden claimed the honour in the previous two years.

More on EPL: Second hosts first in EPL… Who wins between Liverpool and Arsenal?

Arsenal or Man City? Opta supercomputer predicts who will win Premier league

This season, 2023/24 Cole Palmer has been announced the winner following an outstanding debut season with Chelsea where he scored 22 goals and provided 10 assists taking his goal-involvements for the blues to 32 in 33 appearances.

The last Chelsea player to win the coveted award was Eden Hazard in 2014 and before him was Scott Parker who took home the gong in 2004, after playing half the season at Charlton before joining the London club.

List of players to win PFA Young Player of the Year award

1973/74 Kevin Beattie (Ipswich Town)

1974/75 Mervyn Day (West Ham United)

1975/76 Peter Barnes (Manchester City)

1976/77 Andy Gray (Aston Villa)

1977/78 Tony Woodcock (Nottingham Forest)

1978/79 Cyrille Regis (West Bromwich Albion)

1979/80 Glenn Hoddle (Tottenham Hotspur)

1980/81 Gary Shaw (Aston Villa)

1981/82 Steve Morgan (Southampton)

1982/83 Ian Rush (Liverpool)

1983/84 Paul Walsh (Luton Town)

1984/85 Mark Hughes (Manchester United)

1985/86 Tony Cottee (West Ham United)

1986/87 Tony Adams (Arsenal)

1987/88 Paul Gascoigne (Newcastle United)

1988/89 Paul Merston (Arsenal)

1989/90 Matthew Le Tissier (Southampton)

1990/91 Lee Sharpe (Manchester United)

1991/92 Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)

1992/93 Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)

1993/94 Andy Cole (Newcastle United)

1994/95 Robbie Fowler (Liverpool)

1995/96 Robbie Fowler (Liverpool)

1996/97 David Beckham (Manchester United)

1997/98 Michael Owen (Liverpool)

1998/99 Nicolas Anelka (Arsenal)

1999/2000 Harry Kewell (Leeds United)

2000/01 Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

2001/02 Craig Bellamy (Newcastle United)

2002/03 Jermaine Jenas (Newcastle United)

2003/04 Scott Parker (Charlton Athletic/ Chelsea)

2004/05 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2005/06 Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

2006/07 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

2007/08 Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)

2008/09 Ashley Young (Aston Villa)

2009/10 James Milner (Aston Villa)

2010/11 Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

2011/12 Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)

2012/13 Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur)

2013/14 Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

2014/15 Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

2015/16 Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)

2016/17 Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)

2017/18 Leroy Sané (Manchester City)

2018/19 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

2019/20 Trent Alexander-Arnold. (Liverpool)

2020/21 Phil Foden (Manchester City)

2021/22 Phil Foden (Manchester City)

2022/23 Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

2023/24 Cole Palmer (Chelsea)

Read also: Arsenal or Man City? Opta supercomputer predicts who will win Premier league

Related post