Bundesliga: See full list of all past winners

 Bundesliga: See full list of all past winners

The German Bundesliga, is the highest football division in Germany since 1963. It was established to promote professionalism in the sport and increase competition. The league delivered on its promise in its first seven years, producing seven different winners.

The league is competed by 18 teams and each plays 34 matches. The team that tops the table at the end of the of the season is considered as the winner.

A relegation play-off round is required for the third-lowest team in the league table, while the bottom two teams are demoted. Two teams from the second division are promoted to the Bundesliga.

The most successful team in German Bundesliga is Bayern Munich. They have won 32 titles and finished second 11 times. Monchengladbach and Borussia Dortmund have each won five titles while is behind them with four league titles.

Bayer Leverkusen won their first ever Bundesliga title under Xabi Alonso in the 2023-24 season. They secured the league in matchweek 29 with games left to play and with an unbeaten record.

Gerd Muller is the highest goal-scorer with 365 goals while Robert Lewandowski follows him with 312 goals and is the highest goal-scoring foreign player in the league.

Charly Korbel has the record of most appearances in the league with 602 appearances.

List of all past Bundesliga winners: 

1963-64: FC Koln

1964-65: Werder Bremen

1965-66: 1860 Munich

1966-67: Eintracht Braunschweig

1967-68: FC Nurnberg

1968-69: Bayern Munich

1969-70: Borussia Monchengladbach

1970-71: Borussia Monchengladbach

1971-72: Bayern Munich

1972-73: Bayern Munich

1973-74: Bayern Munich

1974-75: Borussia Monchengladbach

1975-76: Borussia Monchengladbach

1976-77: Borussia Monchengladbach

1977-78: FC Koln

1978-79: Hamburger SV

1979-80: Bayern Munich

1980-81: Bayern Munich

1981-82: Hamburger SV

1982-83: Hamburger SV

1983-84: VfB Stuttgart

1984-85: Bayern Munich

1985-86: Bayern Munich

1986-87: Bayern Munich

1987-88: Werder Bremen

1988-89: Bayern Munich

1989-90: Bayern Munich

1990-91: FC Kaiserslautern

1991-92: VfB Stuttgart

1992-93: Werder Bremen

1993-94: Bayern Munich

1994-95: Borussia Dortmund

1995-96: Borussia Dortmund

1996-97: Bayern Munich

1997-98: FC Kaiserslautern

1998-99: Bayern Munich

1999-2000: Bayern Munich

2000-01: Bayern Munich

2001-02: Borussia Dortmund

2002-03: Bayern Munich

2003-04: Werder Bremen

2004-05: Bayern Munich

2005-06: Bayern Munich

2006-07: VfB Stuttgart

2007-08: Bayern Munich

2008-09: VfL Wolfsburg

2009-10: Bayern Munich

2010-11: Borussia Dortmund

2011-12: Borussia Dortmund

2012-13: Bayern Munich

2013-14: Bayern Munich

2014-15: Bayern Munich

2015-16: Bayern Munich

2016-17: Bayern Munich

2017-18: Bayern Munich

2018-19: Bayern Munich

2019-20: Bayern Munich

2020-21: Bayern Munich

2021-22: Bayern Munich

2022-23: Bayern Munich

2023-24: Bayer Leverkusen

Read also: Revealed: How Alonso’s Leverkusen ended Bayern’s dynasty

Related post