Rangers win NPFL… see list of clubs that have won NPFL

 Rangers win NPFL… see list of clubs that have won NPFL

The Nigerian Premier Football League (NPFL) is the top tier of club football in Nigeria’s league system. The league started in 1972 with just 6 teams and Mighty Jets winning the inaugural edition.

Rangers international Football Club of Enugu have been crowned champions of the 2023/2024 NPFL and season after beating Bendel Insurance 2:0 at home.

This historic win marks their eight NPFL title, cementing their status as one of Nigeria’s football powerhouses.

Here is the full list of NPFL title winners since the league’s inception:

1972: Mighty Jets (Jos)

1972/73: Bendel Insurance (Benin City)

1973/74: Rangers International (Enugu)

1974/75: Rangers International (Enugu)

1975/76: IICC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

1976/77: Rangers International (Enugu)

1977/78: Racca Rovers (Kano)

1978/79: Bendel Insurance (Benin City)

1979/80: IICC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

1980/81: Rangers International (Enugu)

1981/82: Rangers International (Enugu)

1982/83: IICC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

1983/84: Rangers International (Enugu)

1984/85: New Nigeria Bank (Benin City)

1985/86: Leventis United (Ibadan)

1986/87: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)

1987/88: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)

1988/89: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)

1989/90: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)

1990/91: Julius Berger (Lagos)

1991/92: Stationery Stores (Lagos)

1992/93: Iwuanyanwu Nationale (Owerri)

1993/94: BCC Lions (Gboko)

1994/95: 3SC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

1995/96: Udoji United FC (Awka)

More on football: 

How Nigeria can qualify for 2026 W/Cup after draw with South Africa

Two games, no win…Finidi George’s abysmal stint as Super Eagles coach

Euro 2024: Can France bounce back from 2022 World Cup defeat?

1996/97: Eagle Cement (Port Harcourt)

1997/98: 3SC Shooting Stars (Ibadan)

1998/99: Lobi Stars FC (Makurdi)

1999/00: Julius Berger (Lagos)

2000/01: Enyimba (Aba)

2001/02: Enyimba (Aba)

2002/03: Enyimba (Aba)

2003/04: Dolphin (Port Harcourt)

2004/05: Enyimba (Aba)

2005/06: Ocean Boys FC (Brass)

2006/07: Enyimba (Aba)

2007/08: Kano Pillars

2008/09: Bayelsa United FC (Yenagoa)

2009/10: Enyimba (Aba)

2010/11: Dolphin (Port Harcourt)

2011/12: Kano Pillars

2012/13: Kano Pillars

2013/14: Kano Pillars

2014/15: Enyimba (Aba)

2015/16: Rangers International (Enugu)

2016/17: Plateau United FC (Jos)

2017/18: Cancelled

2018/19: Enyimba (Aba)

2019/20: Cancelled due to COVID-19

2020/21: Akwa United (Uyo)

2021/22: Rivers United (Port Harcourt)

2022/23: Enyimba (Aba)

2023/24: Rangers International (Enugu)

Read more: Euro 2024: Can France bounce back from 2022 World Cup defeat?

Related post