Musa, Ndidi and others listed in Super Eagles AFCON squad

 Musa, Ndidi and others listed in Super Eagles AFCON squad

The 25-man Super Eagles team has been revealed for the 2023 AFCON (Africa Cup of Nations) in Côte d’Ivoire. The team was announced on Friday, December 29, 2023, via the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) X handle.

Jose Peseiro, the head coach, named nine defenders, five midfielders, eight forwards, and three goalkeepers. The list includes notable individuals like Samuel Chukwueze, Ahmed Musa, Victor Boniface, Kelechi Iheanacho, Alex Iwobi, William Troost-Ekong, and Victor Osimhen.

Wilfred Ndidi, Semi Ajayi, Ola Aina, Francis Uzoho, Zaidu Sanusi, Calvin Bassey, Kenneth Omeruo, Ademola Lookman, and Umar Sadiq are among the others who are included.

Before going to Côte d’Ivoire for the competition in January next year, the Super Eagles will take a plane to the United Arab Emirates for camping.

The three-time AFCON champions will begin their quest for a fourth title against Equatorial Guinea in their Group A opener before taking on hosts Côte d’Ivoire and Guinea-Bissau in the remaining of the group stage.

25-man Super Eagles squad for 2023 AFCON:


Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)



Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)



Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)


Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany).

Read Also: Stars without purpose: What’s wrong with Super Eagles?

Related post